- Treasure Coast Entertainment Directory Treasure Coast Restaurants Florida Attractions
Playing Guitar

Four Events Salute EFMC Teachers of the Year

By Jackie Holfelder

The Education Foundation of Martin County scored a four-base, four-night home run with its annual Teacher of the Year celebration.

In years past, the event has been a fun-filled gala as nominated teachers and their supporters pull out all the stops for a costumed, theme-driven evening.

But this year, safety ruled as winners in three-categories were selected on consecutive evenings, with the grand winner named on a fourth.

On Tuesday, January 26, Kate Logan, fifth-grade teacher at Port Salerno Elementary was announced as EFMC Elementary Teacher of the Year at Infiniti Stuart. The sponsor of the EFMC Elementary Teacher division is Publix Super Markets Charities.

On Wednesday, January 27, Juanita Johnson, English/language arts Teacher at Stuart Middle School was named EFMC Middle School Teacher of the Year at a ceremony hosted by Alpha Romeo Stuart and Maserati Stuart. 

On Thursday, January 28, Leigh Anne Pike, media specialist at Martin County High School was named EFMC High School Teacher of the Year at a ceremony held on the campus of Keiser University, which sponsors the category.  

For the grand finale on Saturday, January 30, all three category winners were invited to a ceremony at Audi Stuart, where votes from community judges were tallied and Angie Roberts, EFMC 2019-10 Martin County Teacher of the Year, shared comments about the trio that had been received during online voting.

Logan, Johnson and Pike were all asked to get behind the wheel of either an Infiniti, Audi or Alpha Romeo. 

As John Millay, Superintendent of Martin County School District was about to announce the name of the winner, the finalists were asked to push the start button in their vehicle.  The engine purred on Pike's Infiniti, indicating that she was the winner while confetti cannons were launched into the air.

Infiniti Stuart and Audi Stuart are presenting sponsors of the Education Foundation of Martin County 'Teacher of the Year' program. 

For more about the Education Foundation of Martin County, visit

Photos by Liz McKinley



back to gallery list

The Porch Factory