- Treasure Coast Entertainment Directory Treasure Coast Restaurants Florida Attractions
Playing Guitar

January Dyer Difference Celebrates and Rehabilitates Life

January Dyer Difference Celebrates and Rehabilitates Life

Article and photos courtesy of Wendy Dwyer

It’s hard to feel like celebrating a birthday when someone very special is gone from your life, and when you’re a child, it can feel like no one really understands that or cares. Thanks to A Soldier’s Child (ASC) Foundation, children of our country’s fallen heroes are given a small ray of sunshine to help make their birthdays memorable and celebratory because others truly do care. Recently, ASC hosted a Birthday Event which included a shopping trip, gift wrapping, and a birthday party to help children of fallen freedom defenders feel the love of a caring community. To help the organization reach and serve the children of fallen heroes, the January Dyer Difference Award in Indian River County was presented to ASC’s Founder and Executive Director, Daryl Mackin.

In St. Lucie County, 15 year-old Emily Ebner’s passion for saving the oceans is something she knows she can’t accomplish without help. The teen, currently a student at Harbor Branch Marine and Oceanographic Academy, is also a volunteer at the Loggerhead Research Center and wanted to do something to help raise funds for marine habitat awareness and rehabilitation. Volunteers for Turtle Box, the name of Ebner’s organization, build custom coolers, dock boxes, fish boxes, and live wells that they sell. The proceeds from the items sold help spread the word about the importance of saving our environment, cleaning up our oceans, and rebuilding our reefs and marine life. Impressed by the vision and enthusiasm of the teen and her dream, the Dyer Difference Selection Committee in St. Lucie County chose to award Turtle Box with the January Dyer Difference Award in St. Lucie County.

Since relocating to the area in 2008, each month, Dyer Chevrolet staff members at Dyer Chevrolet Fort Pierce and Dyer Chevrolet Mazda Subaru in Vero Beach meet to review the applications which have been submitted in their respective counties and select one non-profit organization to receive that month’s recognition and a $3,000 award in each county. For the Dyer family and the members of the Dyer staff, the award and the $6,000 in donations between the two counties are all about helping to make a positive difference in the community. For the recipients, it’s an acknowledgement of their tireless efforts to do the same and a much-needed financial boost to help further their missions. If you’d like to nominate a non-profit organization for the Dyer Difference Award, please visit or find Dyer Difference on Facebook.

St. Lucie County - Front: John Lynch, Michael Ebner, Leana Turrell, Emily Ebner, Lori Ebner

Standing: Will Dyer, Jimmy Nehmeh, Angela Moabed, Will Peck, Tim Ditullio, Shannon Kinnett,  Rockey Stone, Jonathan Holmes, Ray Russell, Will Peck, Angela Moabed, Jimmy Nehmeh, Ilena Luts.

Indian River County – Pictured from Left to Right are Jonathan Hardie (Executive Manager), Tatiana Dyer (Owner), Alan Schacht (ASC Local Coordinator), Daryl Mackin (ASC Founder & Executive Director), Frank Felkey (Human Resources)

january dyer difference



« Back

The Porch Factory O'Donnell Impact Windows & Storm Protection AR Workshop Port St. Lucie Sunrise Theatre MidFlorida Credit Union Event Center