- Treasure Coast Entertainment Directory Treasure Coast Restaurants Florida Attractions

Sandhill Cove Foundation, Inc. Distributes $118,500 in Scholarships

View Full Image

Anne Holmberg, Ivan Escobar, winner or William Holmberg Award and Foundation Committee member Bill Sheehey

View Full Image

Jane Coutts, Ashley Abaunza, winner of Curt Coutts Award, her mother and Foundation Committee member Pat Morgan

View Full Image

Foundation Scholarship winners with Dr. Timothy Moore, President of IRSC and Mary Antaya, Foundation President

View Full Image

Foundation Scholarship committee members (seated) Phyllis Kordick, Ellyn Capper, Kathy Garlington, Chair, Pat Morgan, Nancy Treece, (standing) Les Applegate and and Bill Sheehey

On May 4, 27 employees of Sandhill Cove Retirement Living and/or their children received $118,500 in scholarships from Sandhill Cove Foundation, Inc. to use towards furthering their education.

Recipients will be working towards five advanced degrees, 22 undergraduate degrees and career training certifications.

Dr. Timothy Moore, President of Indian River State College (IRSC), was the guest speaker. Dr. Moore noted that throughout his academic career, he has never felt like he’s making the impact that he is at IRSC.

Mary Antaya, Foundation President, stated, “The residents of Sandhill Cove are keenly aware of time, its rewards and its penalties.  As we observe these young people, we know they don’t have a deep understanding of how precious time is -- however, what we do see in them is a desire and willingness to work hard and move forward in their pursuit of an education.”

The Foundation is an independent, tax-exempt public charity set up by Sandhill Cove residents in August 2015 in accordance with Section 501(c)(3) of the IRS, has given the stipends. To date, it has awarded 230 scholarships.

Recipients of the scholarships are Ashley Abaunza, Anthony Armstrong, Tariq Bacon, Whitney Beaucejour, Daria Behrens, Nathalie Desir, Suzzlie Desir, Clifford Dominique, Kindra Dominique, Flory-Anne Eliaza, Shantia Elliot, Ivan Escobar, Kerry Exantus, Kara Francois, Tianna Francois, Essence Hammond, Maria Hernandez, Rosie Julmis, Mia Kerner, Savoya Levers, Beverly Louissaint, Elmanny Mondesir, Shantia Reid, Alton Simpson, Heather Stone, Karina Teixeira and Naomi Zizzo.

Eleven awardees will attend IRSC, 15 will attend other Florida schools and one will attend an out-of-state university. They will be enrolled in degrees for Nursing, Accounting, Computer Science, Occupational Therapy, Criminal Justice, Dental Hygiene, Finance, Business Administration, Health Care, Health Administration, Engineering, Elementary Education, Chemistry, Solar Energy and several career trainings programs.

Committee members who interviewed and selected recipients were Kathy Garlington, Chair and Ellyn Capper, Les Applegate, Phyllis Kordick, Pat Morgan, Nancy Treece and Bill Sheehey

Sandhill Cove Foundation, Inc. consists of the Scholarship Committee and a 13- member Board of Directors.

For information, call Mary Antaya, President of the Sandhill Cove Foundation Inc., at 772-286-0676.

« Back