- Treasure Coast Entertainment Directory Treasure Coast Restaurants Florida Attractions
Kids Fishing

Soroptimist of Stuart Names WOD Winners

By Jackie Holfelder

Soroptimist International of Stuart recognizes outstanding women in the community, regardless of whether or not there’s a pandemic affecting formal events.

In spite of two attempts to hold its prestigious Women of Distinction fundraising dinner, chair Jeanine Webster and co-chairs Amy Chappel and Sherry Douds realized there wasn’t a safe way to make it work.

During the week of September 28, Webster notified each winner by phone, although she hadn’t known herself whom they were prior to opening the envelope with each winner’s name.

“I was so surprised, so pleased and so humbled to be able to share the news with the winners,” Webster says.

Winners were:

  • Business Professional – Linda Weiksnar, Esq.
  • Civic Professional - Jamie Herd-Tesson
  • Volunteer - Marie Jureit-Beamish
  • Rising Star - Abbie Nauss

The prestigious awards have been given annually since 1992, with the Rising Star category added in 2003. Winners will receive the same trophy that has been presented in years past. Nominees will be presented with a meaningful remembrance.

Proceeds from Women of Distinction go towards programs supported by Soroptimist International of Stuart, including its scholarships and awards program, Dream It, Be It, and anti-human trafficking awareness events.

“Soroptimist of Stuart is thankful for the dinner sponsors who have already contributed their sponsorship dollars to the Club and is hoping that other supporters and members consider making a contribution so that these important programs are financially viable in the year ahead”, says Webster.

To learn more about Soroptimist International of Stuart, visit

Photos by Liz McKinley

8688 – Nominees for Soroptimist International of Stuart’s Women of Distinction 2020 at the Nominee Reception

Weiksnar - Business Professional winner Linda Weiksnar, Esq.

Tesson - Civic Professional winner Jamie Herd-Tesson

Beamish - Volunteer winner Marie Jureit-Beamish

Nauss - Rising Star winner Abbie Nauss

8632 – Jeanine Webster, WOD Chair, Jill Keegan and Amy Chappel, WOD co-chair





back to gallery list